My stance on religion

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you so much for providing such amusing feedback on my Duggar family opinion article, published in Cal State Fullerton’s The Daily Titan in November. My only disappointment is that you did not respond sooner than this weekend, so that we could have published your “letter to the editor” for 35,000 students to read.

While a printed publication of your letter certainly can’t compare to a measly little blog, I will do you the honor of posting your “letter to the editor” here, as I have also used Yours Most Sincerely, to post my article from The Daily Titan.

Good Morning,

I just read the article you posted about the Duggar Family called “Nineteen problems and they’re still counting…” dated November 15. 2011

While I understand everyone has the freedom to express their opinion on just about everything and everyone, I wonder if you despise them so much – why just not watch their show.  But then I guess you wouldn’t have anything to write about, would you?

God does give life & God does take it away, but it’s so much more than that.  You are missing the big picture.  Way off base on so many levels.

If what happened to Michelle Duggar during the pregnancy & subsequent early birth of Josie, happened to a 20 year old or even someone in their early 30’s would you dare to say they should stop having children?

What harm is the Duggar family doing to you personally?  Do they effect your everyday living?  If they do, you have some serious issues and you need to get on your knees and start talking to God.  God loves each of us & it’s a choice to walk with him or not.  If you choose the not – then it’s your own fate.

How are your finances?  Do you live within your own financial means?  How do you help in your community?  Do you go to far away countries on mission trips and help people?  Do you encourage young moms on how to cope when things get tough in the everyday living?

For a family that shares the word of God to millions of people in a quiet gentle way,  building relationships and helping people,  I would say we all should aspire to be more like them,  19 kids or not, whatever you & I can do to help build the kingdom of God up here on earth is what we are called to do.  IF you choose not to do this,  then that’s your own fate.  Between you & God,  and the day you die & and stand in the judgement seat for all you could have done and didn’t — then it’s a point of Heaven & Hell for you.  I pray that you will see the light and stop your horrible rant about people who are just living an everyday life and working for God.

Oh Jennifer, this just warms my sinful little heart. Instead of emailing me, you could have been busy nailing a crucifix above your bed or protesting a soldier’s funeral. But you chose to defend a family solely because you hold similar religious beliefs and were kind enough to warn me of where my own fate lies in the afterlife as of now. And yes, that is all very sweet and well-intentioned, but I feel like you should really get to know my stance on religion before you waste any more of your precious time praying that I “will see the light.”

I hate religion because it opens so many doors for evil to just walk in and destroy everything good and right in our imperfect world. It is has been the cause of war from the time the Bible was written to the present day. Think of the Crusades. Think of Hitler’s regime. Think of the 9/11 attacks. Even Iran and Israel are on the verge of a World War III, for crying out loud. When you look at Westboro Baptist Church and the Klu Klux Klan, it’s obvious that religion has also been the cause of unnecessary hatred.

I hate religion because God apparently had more important things to do than write his set of instructions himself. Instead, the Bible, the Torah and the Quran were all written by man. And because they were written by man, man took the liberty of interpreting them himself. That’s why God hates fags but accepts them as his children—they just can’t get married in the state of California. Man also clearly interprets that his own written word must be shared with the rest of the world, and true followers must aid in the conversion of every man, woman and child on this planet to “see the light” and follow such instructions to ensure a lifetime and afterlife-time of peace and happiness.

For centuries, man has been the one playing the role of God and dictating what is sinful and what isn’t, and believe me, Jennifer, I’d much rather be on my knees answering to God than to man.

But because theological religion is all about interpretation, I can respect those who see religion as a personal journey and something to give their dull, dreary lives meaning. If what you say is true, and the Duggars do give back to their community and go on missions to help others struggling in less-fortunate countries, then they certainly do fall under this category. (For the record, I’ve never seen a single episode of 19 Kids and Counting. Other top-notch priorities such as plucking my eyebrows and scraping gum off the bottom of my shoe keep me away from those kinds of reality shows.) It was their logic behind their family planning I had an issue with, not their faith itself.

Some people in this world can’t go through life without having faith in something. They need some hope to hold on to. They need something to better their lives and keep them going. And if religion is the answer, more power to them. I’m not jumping up and down in joy that Michelle had a miscarriage (though I’m not exactly surprised), but if her family’s sorrow is healed by their belief that they will one day be reunited in Heaven as a whole family, then they have my kudos. Likewise, if someone believes a tiny leprechaun living in their left nostril is compelling them to live life happier, kinder and with more respect for their fellow man, then all hail Lord and Savior Seamus McFlannigan O’Toole! I’m not going to rain on their parade and tell them they’re wrong, but the magical pink unicorn in my right eardrum can save their souls instead.

But the most amusing part about your letter was when you spoke of standing in the judgment seat (I guess sitting is a luxury only for the holy and righteous?), which would be a point of Heaven or Hell for me. These kind of statements lead me to theorize, and correct me if I’m wrong, that the biggest reason for following a specific religion is that you, as well as millions of others out there, are afraid and uncertain of what the afterlife will be like. Sunshiny and happy for all eternity? Or swimming around in a pool of fire for all eternity? After all, it’s better to believe in God and find out there isn’t one than to not believe in God and find out there is one, yes?

This is where you and I so drastically differ in our belief systems, Jennifer. Unlike you, I’m not afraid of what will happen after I die.

In fact, I think it’s a little disappointing when someone does unto others, donates all their money, goes to church every Sunday and shares God’s message with the whole world for the sake of a reward—the rest of eternity with their loving deity. What kind of message is that sending? What exactly is so wrong with doing good deeds and following the Golden Rule just for the sake of being a good person? That’s what I try to do.

Yes, I do live within my financial means, and when I have a little extra left over, I donate money to cancer research. I give the bum on the street corner a dollar, unsure if he’s really going to use it to buy food or crack. Yes, I have given back to my community by tutoring mentally disabled students in high school. Although work and college is more than demanding of my free time, I do what I can to still keep in touch and actually hang out with these kids instead of abandoning them after graduation. I don’t help young mothers cope because that is far beyond my area of expertise, but I offer anyone a shoulder to cry on, and an ear to listen. I don’t do this because I want to be in God’s good graces. I do this because I don’t need a Bible telling me what’s morally and ethically right; being the most intelligent species on this planet, I believe that’s something everyone deep down inside just knows.

And if I should die and find out there really is a God, and he’s still sending me to Hell because I didn’t confess with my heart and my tongue that Jesus was his son, then so be it. At least I would have made a difference on Earth, where my good deeds mattered most.

I understand that you don’t want me judging a family I don’t even know, even though they opened themselves up to public judgment by inviting a camera crew to document their private lives. But don’t be the nonsensical, hypocritical one and judge me, Jennifer. Don’t let your strong religious beliefs blind you to the abnormally large differences between faith and fact. There wasn’t a damn thing in my article I was way off base on.

Yours most sincerely,

A Christian School Pupil Of 10 Years

About Charlotte Knight

I'm a lover and a fighter.
This entry was posted in Letters and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

